Who We Are

Irish Rule of Law International is a project-oriented, non-profit organisation established by the Law Society of Ireland and the Bar of Ireland in 2007. In 2015, IRLI was joined by the Law Society of Northern Ireland and the Bar of Northern Ireland in the support and promotion of IRLI’s rule of law projects.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Frank Clarke, Chief Justice, is IRLI’s patron.

IRLI is governed by a Board of Directors comprising representatives of the Law Society of Ireland and the Bar of Ireland. To ensure adequate growth management, in 2015 the Board expanded to include a number of other relevant experts specialising in International Development, Access to Justice, Business and Marketing.

IRLI has Executive staff operating from its headquarters in Dublin: an Executive Director and a Programme Coordinator.

IRLI’s project-based work is carried out through a wide range of pro-bono legal experts and programme lawyers, either remotely or in-country. In Malawi, where IRLI implements its largest programme on Access to Justice, a team of six Programme Lawyers support the programme for a minimum period of 12 months each.


Chairman of the Board of Directors

John Shaw Solicitor, Former President of the Law Society of Ireland

Vice Chair of the Board of Directors

Mary Rose Gearty SC, Senior Member of the Council of the Bar of Ireland

Company Secretary

Anna Hickey Solicitor


Members of the Board of Directors

Michael Carrigan Solicitor

Norville Connolly Solicitor, Former President of the Law Society NI

Michael Irvine Solicitor, Former President of the Law Society

Mary Jennings Consultant, International Development

Mary Keane Deputy Director General of the Law Society

Noel Lourdes Consultant, Business and Finance

Eithne Lynch Solicitor, Public Interest Law Alliance

Gerry McAlinden QCBarrister-at-Law

Rachel Power Solicitor, Public Interest Law Alliance

Brian Storan Barrister-at-Law


IRLI Executive Director

Vanina Trojan


IRLI Programme Coordinator

Bríd Sheehan


IRLI Research Intern

Cathal Campbell


IRLI Malawi Programme on Access to Justice

Programme Manager: Maya Linstrum-Newman

Programme Lawyer – Legal Aid Bureau: Macdara O Drisceoil 

Programme Lawyer – Malawi Police Services: Tyler Holmes

Programme Lawyer – DPP: Recruitment underway

Programme Lawyer – Judiciary: Sophie Pigot

Alternative Justice Programme Officer: Jolene Quinn